An Hour in the Botanic Garden

It seems quite ridiculous to say that Cambridge University Botanic Garden looked even more lovely and amazing today than it usually does, but this is none the less true. From the daisies on the lawn to the campion, lady’s smock and oxeyed daisies in the long grass and the orchids in the chalk garden, or from the roses to the Iris sibirica to the foxgloves, everything looked quite wonderful.

There are daisies all over the grass paths and edges

There are daisies all over the grass paths and edges

Is this an early purple orchid?

Is this an early purple orchid?

Oxeyed daisy

Oxeyed daisy

White campion

White campion

My purpose in nipping in for an hour was twofold: I wanted to photograph white flowers, and I wanted a present from the Garden Shop for a baby to whom I am shortly to be introduced. It was of course remarkably difficult to stick to white only… and apologies for those plants not properly identified: I’m always reluctant to grope around in deep foliage for the labels.

Iris

Iris

Valeriana phu, in the chronological beds

Valeriana phu, in the chronological beds

Cistus

Cistus

White foxglove

White foxglove

Gorgeous but unidentified...

Gorgeous but unidentified…

White nigella

White nigella

Prunus ?? tribunata???

Prunus trilobata

Philadelphus cymosus 'Conquete'

Philadelphus cymosus ‘Conquete’

In the rose garden

In the rose garden…

Rose 2

Rosa multiflora

Rosa multiflora

At this point, the weather started to look threatening…

The rambler over the shelter in the scented garden

The rambler over the shelter in the scented garden

so I hoofed it for home, not because I melt in the wet but because I didn’t have a waterproof bag for the book I bought:

Bear

In fact, only a few drops fell, so I took some snaps of some of my own white(ish) flowers:

My white poppy

My white poppy

My new clematis 'Jeanne's Pink', from Waresley Park Garden Centre

My new clematis ‘Jeanne’s Pink’, from Waresley Park Garden Centre

Cornus kousa 'China Girl'

Cornus kousa ‘China Girl’

Wonderful Clematis Kamschatkensis (not sure if this is how its spelled), which gets better every year.

Wonderful Clematis Kamschatkensis (not sure if this is how it’s spelt?), which gets better every year.

Next up, purple flowers…

Caroline

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Hour in the Botanic Garden

  1. Pingback: Retirement: Four Months In | Professor Hedgehog's Journal

  2. Pingback: Halcyon Days | Professor Hedgehog's Journal

  3. Pingback: My Own Private Robin | Professor Hedgehog's Journal

Leave a Reply

